Machine Politics vs L'Équipe, August 2010. Photo by Steph Simcox
Restarting Play After Out-of-Bounds Ball
This kind of goes along with the time out thread, but it’s separate. Is conceding half court after a ball happens to bounce out too big of a penalty for something that is typically unintentional and simply happenstance? Can you conceive of a way to write this better? Does it matter? Get creative. Discuss solutions that may be more complex but better balanced. Or tell me it’s fine and no one gives a shit. Whatever!
§3.2.3 – Out of bounds
§184.108.40.206 – When the ball leaves the area of play, possession is forfeited by the team which last touched the ball. This includes deflections off of a player’s body or bike.
§220.127.116.11 – The game will restart according to §3.3.
§3.3 – Resuming play
§3.3.1 – Each team returns to their half of the court.
§3.3.2 – The appropriate team receives possession of the ball.
§3.3.3 – The referee establishes both teams are ready by receiving a verbal acknowledgment.
§3.3.4 – The play restarts when either the ball or a player from the team in possession of the ball crosses half-court.