Machine Politics vs L'Équipe, August 2010. Photo by Steph Simcox
Questions about shaft shots
Ok first i have to say that im against making shaft shot count. For me scoring in this sport is all about shooting from the business end, and if we get rid of wheel shot, i don't see the logic of including shaft shot. Also if the matter was for the ref to call it a real shot or not, i would just add a rule who say "if there is a doubt for the ref if it was a regular shot or not, he have to call it a regular shot".
now my questions about it:
1) -Can a raclette shot count it? When people lay down the whole stick on the ground to block shots or pass, they made it with the shaft 95% of the time. In this situation if they rotate they wirst and shot this way, can it count as a regular shot?
2)- The whole shaft count in the rule? so what if a player open is hand to slap it to the nets with the handle of the shaft, does it count as a goal? By opening his hand, i mean that the player still handle the mallet by the thumb and the index finger but open the 3 other other fingers to make the handle hit the ball.
3) Lil' bit like 2), what if people begin to shoot really close from their hand, and sometimes even scoring by punching the ball directly from gloves? Don't we gonna have the same troubles as before to determinate if it was a legal shot or not? ("man it was the shaft," "no it was your glove")
So in the same way we should go a step further and allow punching the ball by hand to score, to avoid ref' issues?