Jump to Navigation

Login / Register

St Cago bike polo mallets DZR bike shoes for street and bike polo Velolocuma bicycles

Travel bags for your bike? Small enough for the megabus?

Are there any bags available that meet the luggage reqs for the megabus? Trash's Space Junk is close, but you'd need to shave about five inches off in any direction. Anyone have experience with this bag? Would it be easy to modify once I packed and unpacked my bike a few times to see if I could make it work? By the way, in order to fit on a megabus, it has to be no larger than 62" when length, width and height are added together. I don't want to get couplers!!!!!

You need to look into local suppliers. I've been traveling with a bike bag for about 15 months, buses, trains etc. Get a custom bag.

velolucuma makes custom bike bags

Trash Messenger Bags, the Space Junk bag

lol. I just saw you mentioned this exact bag in your post. At any rate, the space junk is awesome, but if it's not what you're looking for... so be it! Good luck! But, chances are, if you talk to Andy, the owner, he'd be able to customize it for you in order to fit the specs.

I just picked up a Space Junk this spring and have used it once since. I was able to fit my 56cm Joust (no couplers) easily, but it's a snug fit. Andy says he is able to fit his 58cm All-City Nature Boy (a looong frame, 700c wheels) in one. The interior structure is made of corrugated plastic (emergency wheelcovers!) which would be easily modified but I don't think you'd be able to be able to fit an uncoupled bike in anything smaller than the standard size.

I flew Frontier and they didn't hit me with an oversize charge either way. I also walked about a mile with my bike on my back when I got to Seattle and it was a more comfortable trek than I expected. Great bag for sure, I'd highly recommend one.

I wish I could get my hands on one of those...