Jump to Navigation

Login / Register

St Cago bike polo mallets DZR bike shoes for street and bike polo Velolocuma bicycles

New to Bike Polo-Need a bike

I am new to the sport of bike polo and I need some advice on what kind of a bike I should have. I have been riding a 7 gear Trek Alpha 1.1 road bike with a carbon frame and what I've heard is that a non carbon fixed gear bike along with wheel covers. What kind of pedals are usually used? Handlebar style? Who makes the most affordable and highest quality fixed gear bikes? Jamis? Masi? Surly? Any constructive advice would be most appreciated.

Most don't play on fixed gear bikes. A freewheel is easier to learn/play on (in most cases).
If you have the money and you're sure you're going to be playing bike polo for a while, you probably want to look at the Milwaukee Polo Bruiser and the Fleetvelo Joust.

MKE Polo Bruiser (700c wheels)
http://www.benscycle.net/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=612_2418

Fleetvelo Joust (26" wheels)
http://fleetvelo.com/fv/bikes/the-joust

There are several other manufacturers out there, so your options are not limited to these two - but these are probably the two most popular polo bikes.
If you're not looking to spend that kind of dough, just get something used and build it up to suit your style/needs. Pick a nice easy gear ratio so you can accelerate quickly - polo involves a lot of quick stops and quick starts. You want some handlebars that are easy to reach over and around with your mallet (not too wide, not too tall). You want some tough wheels, and yes wheelcovers can be helpful in prolonging the life of your wheels.
You'll also need a mallet and some gloves and a helmet. Other pads are optional, but knee pads and shin guards aren't a bad idea. Pads and gloves can be bought used if you have a "Play It Again Sports" or similar in your area. Mallets can be built from ski poles and gas pipe on the cheap, but if you can spare $30 it's better to just get the real deal..